Sport Star Awards

Thomastown Camogie Club named Kilkenny Club of the Year

A lot of silverware went back to the 'Town in 2017

The results are in.

Retaining their senior league title, their county title and the Leinster senior title, it turns out it’s been a pretty good 2017 for all things camogie in Thomastown.

Following the public voting stage of the final round of the KCLR & David Buggy Motors Kilkenny Sport Star Awards for 2017, Thomastown Camogie Club have edged out St. Patrick’s Ballyragget and Marble City Hawks to take the overall Club of the Year title.

Also in the running were Mullinavat GAA, Kilkenny City Harriers, Kilkenny Rugby Club, Carrickshock GAA, John Lockes GAA, Dicksboro GAA and Evergreen FC.

With the likes of the Farrell sisters and captain Jenny Reddy in free-scoring form over the season, Thomastown put 3-18 past Mullinavat in July to claim the league title.

In October, a 3-10 to 2-5 win over Dicksboro in the Marble City Travel Senior County Final made it two-in-a-row for the ‘Town, booking their place in the Leinster championships.

While the shoreline suggests a close game, Thomastown were clear winners in their Leinster senior camogie final in November, taking a 0-16 to 3-6 victory to retain their Leinster title.

Dominating the senior fold, the club continue to push through the ranks with strong development and further titles this calendar year at underage grades while their senior players continue to provide the backbone of the Kilkenny senior camogie team.

The Club of the Year award brings a wrap on 2017 for the Sport Star Awards but we’ll be right back in the thick of it come the end of January. Congratulations to our winners over the course of the year – Carrickshock GAA, Loreto Kilkenny, Marble City Hawks, Presentation Secondary School First Year’s, Dicksboro GAA, Cliodhna Manning (Kilkenny City Harriers), Bethany Carroll (Kilkenny United Women), Eva Brennan (Deenside Wheelers), Colm Whelan (Waterford FC) and Richie Dalton.

David Buggy Motors

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *