Between The LionsRugby

Sean O’Brien starts as Lions team to face Maori All Blacks is named

The British & Irish Lions side to face the Maori All Blacks on Saturday in what’s being billed as the “4th test” of the tour has been named.

England’s Owen Farrell has suffered a grade one quadriceps strain in training and has been ruled out of the fixture. He will be replaced on the bench by Wales fly-half Dan Biggar as Johnny Sexton gets the nod at 10. Peter O’Mahony will captain the side.

For local fans, there’s good news for Leinster’s Sean O’Brien who starts at 7.

British & Irish Lions v Maori All Blacks

15. Leigh Halpenny – Toulon, Wales
14. Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England
13. Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales
12. Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England
11. George North – Northampton Saints, Wales
10. Johnny Sexton – Leinster, Ireland
9. Conor Murray – Munster, Ireland
1. Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England
2. Jamie George – Saracens, England
3. Tadhg Furlong – Leinster, Ireland
4. Maro Itoje – Saracens, England
5. George Kruis – Saracens, England
6. Peter O’Mahony (Capt) – Munster, Ireland
7. Sean O’Brien – Leinster, Ireland
8. Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales


16. Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales
17. Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland
18. Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England
19. Iain Henderson – Ulster, Ireland
20. Sam Warburton – Cardiff Blues, Wales
21. Greig Laidlaw – Gloucester Rugby, Scotland
22. Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales
23. Elliot Daly – Wasps, England