Richie Leahy & Chris Nolan named in Fitzgibbon Cup Rising Star Team

Four IT Carlow players included

The Fitzgibbon Cup final proved to be a melting pot of players who were named in the Higher Education GAA Rising Stars Hurling Team of the Year for 2020!

A total of 10 players who competed that day made the final 15, with UCC registering 6 while IT Carlow managed 4. UCC’s Shane Kingston was aconsistent threat to opposition teams during the campaign, and he scored 4 points in the final earning him not only a second Fitzgibbon title, but also the title of 2020 Player of the year.

Mount Leinsters Chris Nolan made the cut after another fine display last season and the final managing 3 points in the close defeat while DJ Carey could always rely on Richie Leahy in the middle of the park.

Wexfords Cathal Dunbar and Shane Reck make up the rest of the IT Carlow contingent.

Congratulations from KCLR to all involved!

Back to top button