After 30 years of waiting, Liverpool are crowned Premier League champions for 2019-20

Congratulations to Liverpool and all their fans.

It’s been a long 30-year wait, but it has finally happened – Liverpool have been officially crowned as the  Premier League champions for 2019/20.

You need to go back to April 1990 for the last time Liverpool were crowned league champions, before the Premier League as we know it came into existence.

The Reds have had a magnificent season, storming ahead of the pack and clinching the title with seven games to play, setting a new Premier League record.

Chelsea’s 2-1 win at home to Manchester City on Thursday night meant Jurgen Klopp’s side can no longer be caught.

Over the years, the Anfield outfit had many near-misses under previous managers Brendan Rodgers (runner up 2013/14) and Rafa Benitez (runner up 2008/09), making this season’s victory even sweeter for fans and players.

Under Klopp, the club’s fortunes have changed in recent years, aided by playing attractive football and making shrewd purchases. Sadio Mané, Mo Salah, Scotland’s Andy Robertson, Brazilian goalkeeper Alisson, Virgil Van Dijk and the emergence of Alexander-Arnold have all been inspired.

Klopp was emotional after the game saying “This is a big moment, I have no real words. I am completely overwhelmed. I never thought I would feel like this.”

English champions, European champions and world champions, not a lot of teams can say that.

Back to top button