Kilkenny’s Mark Power named on Irish team for European Amateur Team Championships

The European Amateur Team Championships take place from 9th to the 13th of July

Kilkenny man Mark Power has been named on the Ireland team that will contest the upcoming European Amateur Team Championships from 9 to 13 July.

At men’s level, the Ireland team includes recently crowned Amateur champion James Sugrue (Mallow) alongside Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), and Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk). Purcell, who won the Australian Amateur Championship in January, earned automatic selection as the highest ranked Irish player on the World Amateur Golf Ranking (WAGR).

At the European Boys Team Championship, the Ireland side features Joseph Byrne (Baltinglass), Max Kennedy (Royal Dublin), Aaron Marshall (Lisburn), Joshua McCabe (Roganstown), Tom McKibbin (Holywood), and Luke O’Neill (Connemara). Kennedy and O’Neill earned automatic selection having finished in the top two on an order of merit selection criteria for the championship.

Both championships run from Tuesday 9 July through to Saturday 13 July. Ljunghusen, located on Sweden’s southern tip above the Baltic Sea, hosts the men’s event while Chantilly, France stages the boys tournament.

After two rounds of stroke play qualifying, the top eight teams progress to Flight A for the match play stages. The winners of Flight A will be crowned European champions.

The Ireland men’s team will be accompanied by Ireland captain John Carroll (Bandon), Niall MacSweeney (Athenry) and GUI National Coach Neil Manchip.

The Ireland boys team will be accompanied by Ireland boys captain Alasdair Gibson (Knock), Peter English (Limerick) and coach Stephen Hood.

Ireland – European Amateur Team Championship (9-13 July; Ljunghusen, Sweden): Tiarnán McLarnon (Massereene), Ronan Mullarney (Galway), Mark Power (Kilkenny), Conor Purcell (Portmarnock), Caolan Rafferty (Dundalk), James Sugrue (Mallow).

Ireland – European Amateur Boys Team Championship (9-13 July; Chantilly, France): Joseph Byrne (Baltinglass), Max Kennedy (Royal Dublin), Aaron Marshall (Lisburn), Joshua McCabe (Roganstown), Tom McKibbin (Holywood), Luke O’Neill (Connemara).

Stephen Byrne

Stephen Byrne is the Head of Sport and News in KCLR96FM. He's an avid rugby fan and can be seen frequenting Leinster and local clubs games. He loves his GAA too and is a former hurler and footballer and stood between the posts for his home club of Kiltegan for many years. He's also a Man U fan for his troubles and shouts for Bayern Munich in the Bundesliga.
Back to top button