Greyhound Racing

Kilkenny trainers Hennessey and Cronin with nominees for the National Greyhound Racing Awards

The two trainers go head to head for the "Bitch of the Year" award

Kilkenny trainers Paul Hennessey and Peter Cronin both have greyhounds nominated for the 2018 National Greyhound Racing Awards.

Gowran-based Hennessey’s Jaytee Jordan is nominated for the ‘Bitch of the Year’ award, having won the 2018 Sporting Press Irish Oaks.

Mooncoin man Cronin goes up against him for the same award, with Vancouver gaining a nomination. Vancouver reached the final of this year’s Munster Oaks in Waterford, was a winner of the Night of Stars Bitch 525 race and the Shelly Fennelly Memorial Final.

Also nominated for the same award is Ballymac Arminta for Kerry’s Liam Dowling.

Irish Greyhound Derby 2018 winner Ballyanne Sim is nominated for ‘Dog of the Year’, along with the Patrick Guilfoyle-trained Cabra Hurricane, winner of the Night of Stars 525 race, and Slippy Cian, trained by Graham Holland and owned by Limerick’s Full House Syndicate.

The ‘Special Merit’ award will be jointly presented to Bob Shanahan and Tim Keane, regular attendees at Limerick Greyhound Stadium. Bob has been a director of the stadium and a member of the local Advisory Council, as well as part of a number of syndicates, while Tim, also a member of the Advisory Council, is a former chairman of the Irish Greyhound Owners and Breeders Federation and has owned greyhounds for nearly 50 years.

The ‘Hall of Fame’ award will be presented to Waterford’s Gerry Kiely.

The IGB ‘Welfare Award’ will be presented to Bridget Murphy (Ovens, Co. Cork), Patricia Tobin (Kilfeacle, Co. Tipperary) and Robert & Leslie Pullen (Loughrea, Co. Galway).

Gerard Dollard, CEO of the Irish Greyhound Board, commented: “The National Greyhound Racing Awards are a fitting way to showcase the very best that our sport has to offer, in both canine and human form. I wish to congratulate all nominees for their achievements. The high standard of quality across all categories is evidence of the commitment and passion that exists within the Irish greyhound sector.”

The winners of the awards will be revealed at a special ceremony in the Killashee House Hotel in Naas, Co. Kildare, on Sunday, March 24.

Full list of nominees for the 2018 National Greyhound Racing Awards:

Dog of the Year

Ballyanne Sim

Cabra Hurricane

Slippy Cian


Bitch of The Year

Ballymac Arminta

Jaytee Jordan



Sprinter of the Year

Ardnasool Jet

Broadstrand Kiwi

Rossbirr Ranger


Stayer of the Year

Are Nagini

Ballykett Beauty



Brood Bitch of the Year

Ballydoyle Honey

Global Liberty

Sizzling Sarah


Stud Dog of the Year

Droopys Jet

Kinloch Brae

Laughill Blake


Future Star

Ballymac Anton

Killer Bee

Sliabh Liag


Special Merit Awards

Bob Shanahan

Tim Keane

Gerry Kiely


Welfare Awards

Bridget Murphy

Patricia Tobin

Lesley and Robert Pullen

Stephen Byrne

Stephen Byrne is the Head of Sport and News in KCLR96FM. He's an avid rugby fan and can be seen frequenting Leinster and local clubs games. He loves his GAA too and is a former hurler and footballer and stood between the posts for his home club of Kiltegan for many years. He's also a Man U fan for his troubles and shouts for Bayern Munich in the Bundesliga.