Henderson is English Football Writers Association Player of the Year

Midfielder pays tribute to teammates after winning award

Liverpool’s Jordan Henderson has been named the English Football Writers Association Player of the Year.

The Reds’ captain lifted the Premier League trophy on Wednesday as Liverpool celebrated their first title in 30 years.

It’s the first time the England international has won the award, but does not feel he deserves all the plaudits. “As grateful as I am I don’t feel like I can accept this on my own,” Henderson said. “I don’t feel like anything I’ve achieved this season or in fact during my whole career has been done on my own.

Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne was second in the vote, with Manchester United’s Marcus Rashford back in third.

Embed from Getty Images

Back to top button