Eire og see off late onslaught to become Carlow Senior Football Champions for 2017

Eire Og 2-8, Rathvilly 1-8

By Tommy Murphy

Eire Og are Carlow senior football champions for the 27th time with a three point win over Rathvilly at Netwatch Cullen Park yesterday.

A goal from Eoghan Ruth in the first half meant Eire Og led by 1-4 to 0-5 at half time and a second from Jordan Morrissey early in the second half gave them a snug margin.

Rathvilly’s hopes of a come back were dashed with two great saves from Robert Moore in the Eire Og goal, one from a penalty and a minute and a half later the same Robbie had to be at his best to stop a point blank Rathvilly shot.

Gary Dempsey scoered Rathvillys goal from a penalty on the Stroke of full time but it was Sean Gannon who was presented with the new Nationalist Cup.

This is Eire Og’s 27th win since they first won in 1960 and in that fifty seven year period they only lost seven finals.

Rathvilly have won eight championships since their first in 1983 and including Sunday have lost nine.

In the curtain raiser Palatine won the junior hurling championship when they defeated Erins Own.

Myshall Camogie team qualified for the Leinster Intermediate Semi-final with a six point win over Faughs of Dublin yesterday by 2-6 to 0-6.

They play Camross of Laois in Myshall on Sunday next at.

Clonmore breathed a sigh of relief when leading from start to finish they emerged with a three point win over Naomh Eoin in the Intermediate football Relegation Final.

Clonmore led by 0-8 to 0-1 at half time and finished on a scoreline of Clonmore 0-11, Naomh Eoin 1-5.

This means Clonmore stays in the intermediate championship for 2018 while Naomh Eoin drop back to Junior ‘A’.

This is the first time since 1969 that Naomh Eoin are back in junior football championship.