Carlow’s Marcus Lawler named University Athlete of the Year at the National Athletics Awards

Ciara Mageean was named as the Athlete of the Year

Carlow man Marcus Lawler has won University Athlete of the Year at the National Athletics Awards.

Marcus has had a great year on the track with a 200m bronze medal at the World Student Games in Naples.

He also picked up a silver medal in the 60 metres sprint and won the 200 metres at the Universities Championships.

Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn) was named as the Athlete of the Year.

Mageean took top honours after her 10th place finish at the World Athletics Championships in a world class time of 4:00.15. She also won Track and Field Athlete of the year.

Kate O’Connor (St Gerard’s Dundalk) was named U20 Athlete of year after winning silver in the heptathlon at the European Athletics U20 Championships with a score 0f 6,093 points which was also a national senior record. She fended off a quality category that included European medallists Sarah Healy and Daragh McElhinney (both UCD).

Sonia O’Sullivan was a very popular inductee into the Hall of Fame for 2019. She was the dominant figure in women’s athletics in the world in the 90s with a sporting C.V. to match or better any Irish sportsperson.

While the Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards is a celebration of the many successes of our international and national athletes, it also commemorates the association’s exceptional volunteer base. Nick Davis was named as the Lifetime Achievement Award recipient – the pinnacle volunteer award while Bernie Dunne won the Outstanding Official of the Year.

Nick Davis, a member of Liffey Valley, has served many roles, including President of the association and MC at national and Dublin events, along with being heavily involved with European Athletics. Bernie Dunne has played a huge role in competition in the association and is a member of Clonliffe Harriers.

Jim Aughney was the recipient of the Special Recognition Award for his services to the sport as race director of the Dublin marathon. Aughney, a member of Civil Service Harriers, will be quick to mention his loyal team of volunteers on the committee but he has helped steer the race through testing waters and it now sells out at 22,000 runners and hosts the national marathon championships.

Sean Egan (Donore Harriers) received the award for services to coaching. Egan has been seamlessly involved in hammer throwing from the time he won the 1973 junior BLE championship to currently coaching one of Ireland’s most talented throwers Adam King – along with helping countless others down through the years.

Award Winners

Hall of Fame: Sonia O’Sullivan

Lifetime Services to Athletics: Nick Davis

Athlete of the Year: Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn)

Endurance Athlete of the Year: Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley)

U20 Athlete of the Year: Kate O’Connor (St Gerard’s Dundalk)

U23 Athlete of the Year: Eilish Flanagan (Carmen Runners)

Track & Field Athlete of the Year: Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn)

Performance Club of the Year: Raheny Shamrock

Services to Coaching: Sean Egan

Official of the Year: Bernie Dunne

Inspirational Performance of the Year on Irish Soil: Ciara Neville (Emerald)

Development Club of the Year: Carrick Aces

Mountain Runner of the Year: Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers)

Master Athlete of the Year: Annette Kealy (Raheny Shamrock)

Ultra-Athlete of the Year: Caitriona Jennings (Letterkenny)

Schools Athlete of the Year: Efrem Gidey (Le Cheile Tyrellstown/Clonliffe Harriers)

University Athlete of the Year: Marcus Lawler (IT Carlow/SLOT)

Special Recognition Award: Jim Aughney (Dublin marathon), Patricia Walsh, Marita Walton

Stephen Byrne

Stephen Byrne is the Head of Sport and News in KCLR96FM. He's an avid rugby fan and can be seen frequenting Leinster and local clubs games. He loves his GAA too and is a former hurler and footballer and stood between the posts for his home club of Kiltegan for many years. He's also a Man U fan for his troubles and shouts for Bayern Munich in the Bundesliga.
Back to top button