IT Carlow share the spoils with reigning Fitzgibbon champions Mary I

I.T Carlow staged a remarkable comeback to earn themselves a draw in last nights Fitzgibbon Cup clash with reigning champions Mary I.

DJ Carey’s side trailed by 8 points early in the second half but fought back to earn a share of the spoils with the scoreboard finishing 18 points a piece.

Carlow outscored their opponents by 12 points to 4 in the last quarter and looked like they had won it when Tommy Nolan pointed, however Darragh O’Donovan nailed the equaliser late on.

A clash with GMIT is Carlow’s next port of call and that will determine the knockout stage places.

I.T Carlow: Enda Rowland (0-1f); Dwane Palmer, Kevin Hannifan, Ross Brown; Rob Moran (Erin’s Own), Damien Healy, Dale O’Hanlon; James Doyle (St Mullins) (0-1), Colin Dunford (0-2); Cha Dwyer (0-2), Mark Russell, Marty Kavanagh (St Mullins) (0-2); Jack Fagan, Stephen Maher (0-9,7f, 1 65), Chris Bolger (Clara).

Subs: Tommy Nolan (0-1) for Russell


Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *