Bryan Byrne in line for Champions Cup debut against Glasgow as Sean O’Brien misses out

Byrne has been pushing strong while O'Brien hasn't quite made it back from injury

Leinster Head Coach has handed a first Champions Cup start to Jordan Larmour.

The Leinster Academy back has come off the bench in both Rounds 3 and 4 against Exeter but this will be his first start at European level.

There is also a European debut for recent arrival James Lowe. The New Zealander has two tries in three games for Leinster so far but all in the Guinness PRO14. He starts on the left wing on Sunday.

Fergus McFadden who scored two tries against Ulster last Saturday in the PRO14 continues on the right wing.

In the centre with Garry Ringrose ruled out through injury, captain Isa Nacewa comes into the number 12 jersey with Robbie Henshaw moving out one to the number 13 shirt as he had done against Montpellier and Glasgow in Rounds 1 and 2.

Luke McGrath and Johnny Sexton are the half back pairing.

In the pack Jack McGrath, Seán Cronin and Tadhg Furlong will start in the front row, Furlong having come through his Return to Play Protocols and having recovered from the elbow injury picked up against Ulster.

Devin Toner and Scott Fardy will start in the second row behind them.

In the back row Jordi Murphy starts at blind side flanker with Josh van der Flier at open side and Jack Conan the final name on Cullen’s list.

On the bench there is a potential Champions Cup debut for Carlow’s Bryan Byrne, while James Ryan has recovered from injury to take his place on the bench.

Sean O’Brien saw a specialist this week for the tightness in his hip as it hadn’t responded to the initial treatment.

As a result he had a small procedure and the target is to have O’Brien back available during the 6 Nations window.

We have LIVE commentary of the Leinster game here on Sunday thanks to Carlow Dental Centre, YOUR AWARD WINNING DENTAL CLINIC , FOR THE BEST DENTAL CARE AT AFFORDABLE PRICES .

Leinster Rugby Team to play Glasgow (caps in brackets):

15. Jordan Larmour (12)
14. Fergus McFadden (162)
13. Robbie Henshaw (20)
12. Isa Nacewa (177) (CAPTAIN)
11. James Lowe (3)
10. Johnny Sexton (143)
9. Luke McGrath (86)
1. Jack McGrath (123)
2. Seán Cronin (143)
3. Tadhg Furlong (76)
4. Devin Toner (209)
5. Scott Fardy (12)
6. Jordi Murphy (97)
7. Josh van der Flier (58)
8. Jack Conan (65)

16. Bryan Byrne (20)
17. Cian Healy (182)
18. Andrew Porter (20)
19. James Ryan (8)
20. Dan Leavy (47)
21. Nick McCarthy (17)
22. Ross Byrne (39)
23. Rob Kearney (191)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *