Between The LionsRugby

Lions team to face Highlanders on Tuesday is announced as Sean O’Brien sits out

Admittedly, when we were talking about the Lions and Crusaders game on Friday, we thought the result may have gone the other way. As it turns out, the Lions roared into life to pick up their second win of the 2017 tour in New Zealand.

Having started against Crusaders on Saturday, there’s no place in the lineup for Leinster’s Sean O’Brien. though five of the Irish representatives do start including Jared Payne, Robbie Henshaw, Rory Best, Iain Henderson and CJ Stander. Leinster’s Jack McGrath is named among the replacements.

At this stage, every one of the 41-man squad has started for the Lions, but with the first of the All Blacks tests getting closer, those getting more game time will certainly be looking to cement their place in the red jersey. Tour captain Sam Warburton returns to the number 7 shirt and will lead Warren Gatland’s men out against the Dunedin-based Super Rugby at 8.35am Irish time on Tuesday.

This will be only the fourth match the Lions have ever played under a closed roof, losing twice to Australia in Melbourne in 2001 and 2013, and drawing with Argentina in a one-off fixture ahead of the 2005 New Zealand tour at the Millennium Stadium.

Lions team to face Highlanders

15 Jared Payne – Ulster, Ireland, #830
14 Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England, #828
13 Jonathan Joseph – Bath Rugby, England, #809
12 Robbie Henshaw – Leinster, Ireland, #824
11 Tommy Seymour – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, #813
10 Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales, #821
9 Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales, #820

1 Joe Marler – Harlequins, England, #811
2 Rory Best – Ulster, Ireland, #793
3 Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England, #814
4 Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England, #826
5 Iain Henderson – Ulster, Ireland, #808
6 James Haskell – Wasps, England, #823
7 Sam Warburton (capt) – Cardiff Blues, Wales, #800
8 CJ Stander – Munster, Ireland, #831


16 Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales, #829
17 Jack McGrath – Leinster, Ireland, #827
18 Dan Cole – Leicester Tigers, England, #794
19 Alun Wyn Jones – Ospreys, Wales, #761
20 Justin Tipuric – Ospreys, Wales, #786
21 Greig Laidlaw – Gloucester Rugby, Scotland, #810
22 Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, #780
23 Elliot Daly – Wasps, England, #822