9 nominations for Kilkenny in 2017 Camogie All-Star Awards

Defeated at the death in September’s All-Ireland Senior Camogie Final, a repeat of 2016’s battle with Cork, Kilkenny have received 9 nominations for this year’s Camogie All-Stars.

The final team will be announced at the 14th annual Camogie All-Stars Awards banquet, sponsored by Liberty Insurance at Citywest Hotel on Saturday, November 4th.

Cork, who won a record 27th Senior All-Ireland title, receive 11 nominations. Goalkeeper Aoife Murray, defenders Rena Buckley, Pamela Mackey, Gemma O’Connor, Eimear O’Sullivan and Laura Treacy are amongst the nominees. O’Connor is seeking an incredible 10th All-Stars Award. Ashling Thompson has been nominated at midfield whilst Orla Cronin, Orla Cotter, Katrina Mackey and Amy O’Connor are nominated amongst the forwards.

Kilkenny receive 9 nominations. Goalkeeper Emma Kavanagh, defenders Anne Dalton, Catherine Foley and Grace Walsh are amongst the nominees for the Cats. Meighan Farrell is nominated at midfield, whilst Denise Gaule, Julie Ann Malone, Katie Power and Miriam Walsh are nominated amongst the forwards.

Dublin receive 7 nominations as a result of their run to the Semi-Finals; goalkeeper Faye McCarthy, defenders Eva Marie Elliott, Hannah Hegarty, Eve O’Brien and Áine Woods, midfielder Eimear McCarthy, and forward Aisling Maher.

Galway receive 6 nominations; defenders Heather Cooney and Tara Kenny, midfielders Niamh Kilkenny and Ann Marie Starr, and forwards Aoife Donohue and Ailish O’Reilly.

Clare receive 5 nominations; defenders Máire McGrath and Róisín McMahon, midfielder Orlaith Duggan, and forwards Aoife Keane and Chloe Morey.

Wexford receive 4 nominations; defenders Bríd Gordon and Sarah O’Connor, and forwards Chloe Foxe and Shelley Kehoe.
Limerick, Tipperary and Waterford receive one nomination each with Limerick’s Niamh Mulcahy, Tipp’s Orla O’Dwyer and Waterford’s Beth Carton all named amongst the forwards.

2017 Camogie All-Star Nominees

Goalkeepers: Aoife Murray (Cork), Faye McCarthy (Dublin), Emma Kavanagh (Kilkenny)

Defenders: Full-Back Line: Máire McGrath (Clare), Rena Buckley (Cork), Laura Treacy (Cork), Eve O’Brien (Dublin), Áine Woods (Dublin), Tara Kenny (Galway), Catherine Foley (Kilkenny), Grace Walsh (Kilkenny), Sarah O’Connor (Wexford)

Half-Back Line: Róisín McMahon (Clare), Pamela Mackey (Cork), Gemma O’Connor (Cork), Eimear O’Sullivan (Cork), Eva Marie Elliott (Dublin), Hannah Hegarty (Dublin), Heather Cooney (Galway), Anne Dalton (Kilkenny), Bríd Gordon (Wexford)

Midfield: Orlaith Duggan (Clare), Ashling Thompson (Cork), Eimear McCarthy (Dublin), Niamh Kilkenny (Galway), Ann Marie Starr (Galway), Meighan Farrell (Kilkenny)

Forwards: Half-Forward Line: Aoife Keane (Clare), Orla Cronin (Cork), Orla Cotter (Cork), Katrina Mackey (Cork), Amy O’Connor (Cork), Denise Gaule (Kilkenny), Katie Power (Kilkenny), Niamh Mulcahy (Limerick) Shelley Kehoe (Wexford)

Full-Forward Line: Chloe Morey (Clare), Aisling Maher (Dublin), Aoife Donohue (Galway), Ailish O’Reilly (Galway), Julie Ann Malone (Kilkenny), Miriam Walsh (Kilkenny), Orla O’Dwyer (Tipperary), Beth Carton (Waterford), Chloe Fox (Wexford)

Manager of the Year: Paudie Murray (Cork), John Davis (Meath), Johnny Greville (Westmeath).

This year also marks the inaugural All-Starrs tour, with the winning Senior All-Stars from 2016 and 2017 heading to Madrid for an exhibition game between 29 November and 2 December.