Sean O’Brien named on 2017 British & Irish Lions tour squad for New Zealand

Sean O'Brien Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie
Sean O'Brien Mandatory Credit ©INPHO/James Crombie

Unfinished business, they said.

Well, if Sean O’Brien has any unfinished business with the Lions after the 2013 tour, he’s got a chance to wrap it up on the 2017 tour having been named to Warren Gatland’s team today.

Tour manager John Spencer announced the British & Irish Lions squad for this summer’s tour to New Zealand just after midday on Thursday. Sam Warburton of Cardiff Blues and Wales will lead the Lions for a second consecutive Tour, an honour only ever achieved once before by Martin Johnson in 1997 and 2001.
Warburton will be supported by a number of former Lions with 2 players on their third and 14 on their second Tour.

Ireland see Tadgh Furlong, Jack McGrath, Rory Best, Iain Henderson, Sean O’Brien, Peter O’Mahony, CJ Stander, Conor Murray, Jonathan Sexton, Robbie Henshaw and Jared Payne included in the squad.

Others are reading...
Carlow Football selector says they "wont fear anybody now" as championship continues this weekend

According to Gatland, the squad was only finalised yesterday

2017 British & Irish Lions Tour Team


  • Dan Biggar – Ospreys, Wales
  • Elliot Daly – Wasps, England
  • Jonathan Davies – Scarlets, Wales, Lions #778
  • Owen Farrell – Saracens, England, Lions #780
  • Leigh Halfpenny – Toulon, Wales, Lions #775
  • Robbie Henshaw – Leinster Rugby, Ireland
  • Stuart Hogg – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland, Lions #783
  • Jonathan Joseph – Bath Rugby, England
  • Conor Murray – Munster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #790
  • George North – Northampton Saints, Wales, Lions #792
  • Jack Nowell – Exeter Chiefs, England
  • Jared Payne – Ulster Rugby, Ireland
  • Jonathan Sexton – Leinster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #791
  • Tommy Seymour – Glasgow Warriors, Scotland
  • Ben Te’o – Worcester Warriors, England
  • Anthony Watson – Bath Rugby, England
  • Rhys Webb – Ospreys, Wales
  • Liam Williams – Scarlets, Wales
  • Ben Youngs – Leicester Tigers, England, Lions #799


  • Rory Best – Ulster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #793
  • Dan Cole – Leicester Tigers, England, Lions #794
  • Taulupe Faletau – Bath Rugby, Wales, Lions #779
  • Tadhg Furlong – Leinster Rugby, Ireland
  • Jamie George – Saracens, England
  • Iain Henderson – Ulster Rugby, Ireland
  • Maro Itoje – Saracens, England
  • Alun Wyn Jones – Ospreys, Wales, Lions #761
  • George Kruis – Saracens, England
  • Courtney Lawes – Northampton Saints, England
  • Joe Marler – Harlequins, England
  • Jack McGrath – Leinster Rugby, Ireland
  • Ross Moriarty – Gloucester Rugby, Wales
  • Sean O’Brien – Leinster Rugby, Ireland, Lions #796
  • Peter O’Mahony – Munster Rugby, Ireland
  • Ken Owens – Scarlets, Wales
  • Kyle Sinckler – Harlequins, England
  • CJ Stander – Munster Rugby, Ireland
  • Justin Tipuric – Ospreys, Wales, Lions #786
  • Mako Vunipola – Saracens, England, Lions #787
  • Billy Vunipola – Saracens, England
  • Sam Warburton (Captain) – Cardiff Blues, Wales, Lions #800
Others are reading...
Listen: Steven Poacher speaks to KCLR ahead of Carlow v Monaghan

Watch the announcement and presentation again below.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Sean O'Brien ruled out as Leinster team to face ASM Clermont is named

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top
Powered by Blacknight